top of page

Kate Henzellthomas

1. Tell us a little about your current job. What do you enjoy most?

My current job is Teacher-Librarian at the International School of Helsingborg in Sweden. I enjoy working with students from 3 years to 18 years old. Reading and discussing high quality texts with the students in their 30 minute library sessions is the highlight of my job. I am responsible for selecting stories and non-fiction to support their studies. I also work part time as an associate tutor on the MTeach at the IOE, London.

2. I see you have come some way from doing the MTeach. What would you say are the key things about the MTeach that have stayed with you?

The part of the MTeach which stays with me in my everyday practice as a primary teacher is the power of reflection and criticality. This is so strongly fostered on the MTeach course it becomes a mind-set - one which serves me well, I feel. I approach every new pedagogical initiative with this ‘MTeach hat’ on, and I believe it helps to raise the quality of the work that I do. In the case of my role as associate tutor at UCL IOE the MTeach has quite literally stayed with me! I absolutely love working with MTeach students, especially on the Research project phase modules, and exploring how to design and carry out small-scale pieces of action research with the students.

3. What did your dissertation/practice based enquiry (PBE) explore? What did you find out and how has it influenced you?

My PBE explored issues with collaborative learning in the Year 6 classroom. I began by questioning current practices in my school of same-attainment grouping, and seating the children in groups of six. With my students I discovered that smaller groups were more successful in group work settings, and that mixed-attainment groups, where collaboration competencies were nurtured, were most rewarding for the students.

4. How was the MTeach work different from School or other professional development courses (e.g. INSET)?

The MTeach work was hugely different to my experience of INSET, partly because of its sustained nature (over two years) and the depth of the learning, but also because of the strong links to literature and being ‘research minded’.

5. The MTeach is for teachers only, it often uses the sharing of participants classroom experiences/practice as a starting point, how did this work for you?

This worked fine for me. Starting with our experience is an obvious beginning point, from which everything else can be built.

6. What is your next career move?

I would like to become part of the school leadership team, when my children are older. For now I find satisfaction from part-time work during school hours so I can pick them up at home time. I would also like to begin a PhD … but I have yet to narrow my field of interest. Sweden and the IB system is a fascinating comparison to the UK curriculum and practice … but that’s another subject!


Recent Posts
bottom of page