top of page

Charlotte Parsons

1. Tell us a little about your current job? What do you enjoy most?

I am the programme leader and a lecturer on the PGCE and CertEd delivered at a North London college which is a partner with the University of Derby. My role is mostly focused of running the Post graduate Teacher Training programme teaching in addition to carrying out teaching observations, trainee development and delivering of lecturer to trainee teachers. I find the role to be extremely rewarding because of the growth that I witness with the trainees and seeing their passion and commitment to strive to deliver high quality professional practice.

2. I see you have come some way from doing the MTeach. What would you say are the key things about the MTeach that have stayed with you ?

The MTeach for me was a great way to really take a step back and look at my own practice. As a result I became more aware of how it has a massive impact on others and how the decisions and actions I take in my role can make or break others learning experiences. The course enabled me to refine areas of practice that I considered needed further development and opened me up to new strategies to better refine my teaching craft.

3. What did your dissertation/ practice based enquiry (PBE) explore? What did you find out how did it influence you?

My dissertation focused on the implementation of e-Learning within the classroom as a sole technique to deliver subject matter and its impact upon my learners. At different stages of the enquiry the strategy had very different results. Ultimately e-learning was not solely a functional or motivational tool for these particular learners. They required a blended environment that supported the individuals (e.g. different genders and learning styles) face to face contact was important as part of this.

4. How was the MTeach work different from School or other professional development courses (e.g. INSET)?

The MTeach required self-motivation and good self-management. It is more independent in respect of course contact time etc.

5. The MTeach is for teachers only. It often uses the sharing of participants classroom experiences/practice as a starting point. How did this work for you?

I found this to be one of the best parts of the course as it was great to share experiences and I really gained a lot from my peers. I gained fresh ideas and alternative perspectives from likeminded professionals which contributed to helping me refresh my practice.

6. What is your next career move?

I hope to move into full time university teaching upon completion of my teaching fellow qualification.


Recent Posts
bottom of page